First Day at Placement

10 Jan

first day

After much anticipation, the day had finally come, when my transition from a student to a teacher had begun. As I walked pass the school doors, I became extremely nervous yet excited. Our faculty advisory had informed us that our first few days at placement would be an observation period, where we watch our associate teacher’s teaching methods, the classroom, as well as students in the classroom. Little did I know, that I would be asked to teach grade 7 math and religion on my second day of placement. Although I wasn’t sure whether I was ready to teach or not, I went home with an open mind, created those lessons. The next day I taught the lesson to my grade 7’s confident, taking on that teacher role. The lesson went well and I gained confidence to continue to teach any subjects that was asked of me. During my first week at placement, I was not only actively involved in the classroom, but in the school community. It is important for pre-service teachers to get involved with extra curricular activities at the school your placed. Not only does this show that particular school, the ways in which you would contribute to their community, but it also gives you a chance to know your students outside of the classroom. If there’s any advice I can offer for the first day of placement, it would be, go in open-minded, professional an eager to learn as much as you can.

Leave a comment